Day 489: Holiday Mistake

Profit: -$24.74 Total: $816.24

Man, what a terrible way to end the month due to a greedy mistake. I had a long USD/JPY trade I triggered a bit too early which was my first mistake, but deciding to hold the trade over the holiday weekend was a poor decision. I seldom hold my trades for the weekend, yet alone on a holiday and this weekend was a reminder to why I shouldn’t hold. Since the market was closed on Monday due to international bank holidays, my stop loss didn’t get triggered nor could I manually close my trades. Things got all funky due to liquidity issues and I ended up losing a trade I should’ve never held. I also tried moving my SL but that didn’t work either. Mistake learned. I’ll probably be taking things light until after New Years since liquidity will be light.

Leave a Reply

